Walking in the SPIRIT

Romans 8:1, 6 says that there is no condemnation if you walk in the SPIRIT and that you will fulfill the will of GOD.  Galatians 5:16 tells us that if we walk in the SPIRIT we will not fulfill the lusts of the flesh.

Some ask, what does it mean to “walk in the SPIRIT?”  Or How can I “walk in the SPIRIT?”

John 7:37-39 and Ephesians 1:13 tell us that when one believes in JESUS he receives the HOLY SPIRIT.  The HOLY SPIRIT comes to seal us to GOD as a purchased possession, to teach and lead us in the way we should go.

It is GOD (the HOLY SPIRIT 1 Corinthians 2:10-13) who explains GOD’s word to us and places in us the knowledge of what GOD wants us to do and gives us the ability to do it (Philippians 2:13).  But its our responsibility to do it.

The HOLY SPIRIT always speaks according to the Word of GOD (the Bible) since it was HE who moved on men to write GOD’s words so man could read them (2 Peter 1:21).

When you just known deep down you need to make a phone call or do some specific thing, that is the HOLY SPIRIT nudging you. However, if what you feel you should do goes against what the Bible says, then you know it is another spirit attempting to tempt you to do wrong.  So always check what you think you should do with the Word of GOD.  It is so important to know the Word of GOD and when you are reading it you are learning to hear HIS voice.

1 Corinthians 14:14 speaks of the difference of the soul (mind/ understanding) and human spirit. We are body, soul and spirit. The body is obvious it houses our soul and spirit. The soul is our mind (intellect), emotions and will and our spirit was dead in trespasses and sin until we accepted JESUS.

When we called upon the LORD JESUS our souls were saved (from the punishment of our sin (Romans 10:9-10,13).  Our spirit came to life (Ephesians 2:1-5) so now we can communicate with GOD. When the HOLY SPIRIT explains things to us (1 Corinthians 2:10-13) then our soul understands, and we choose to accept what HE says or refuse it.

Early autumn a long time ago (early 90’s), after an amazingly wonderful summer working at the Christian Camp Elim I came home and became very depressed for no apparent reason. It blew me away for it was something I had never experienced. I did what I knew to do.

I began to pray and opened my Bible and read the Word of GOD. It didn’t help.

I called spiritual friends and had them pray for me, it didn’t help either.

This went on until one day I was reading in John and came to JESUS statement in John 14:1, “Let not your heart be troubled: you believe in GOD, believe also in ME.’  Immediately the depression lifted… I mean poof, it was gone. That was even crazier than the depression itself. But I felt nudged to check out that verse in the Greek.

Praise the LORD, it was there I found the answer and discovered an amazing truth I had not yet understood.

The Greek for “let not” was a negative imperative (it was a command “do not allow”) and it was passive (someone was stirring me up/ troubling me). It pointed out that an outside force (demonic) had overstepped his rights and taken advantage of me (2 Corinthians 2:11) causing me deep discouragement. That is one of the devil’s seditious devices.

But those words also showed me that I was allowing it to happen, and I didn’t have to. When I read John 14:1 and the depression vanished, it was because my spirit had understood what GOD the HOLY SPIRIT was saying to me and obeyed. My spirit obeyed GOD by turning my focus to JESUS and thus refusing to let the devil discourage me any longer.  Little did I know I was obeying James 4:7.

But my mind (my soul) did not understand why I had immediate release. That is why I felt baffled. The HOLY SPIRIT chose to teach me by nudging me to check out the Greek of John 14:1 and used my research to show me why I was struggling. Then I (my soul/ mind/ intellect) understood why the depression had lifted.

Hebrews 4:12 says that the Word of GOD is a discerner of thoughts and the intents of hearts and that it can divide the soul and spirit. It definitely did that very thing for me that day. Besides coming to understand the problem and fixing it, I also caught a glimpse of the difference between my soul (understanding) and my spirit.

When the HOLY SPIRIT moved (influenced) men of GOD, they spoke and wrote the Scriptures (2 Peter 1:21). In the same way whenever we feel a nudge (that inner knowing what is right and that we should do something) it is the HOLY SPIRIT moving us to act.

If and when we acknowledge GOD ask HIM for wisdom to lead us and are determined to do whatever HE moves us to do (Proverbs 3:5-7, James 1:5-9) we know HE will lead us for HE has promised to do so.  It is then we walk in the SPIRIT. And there is no safer place to be.

But we can resist the leading of the HOLY SPIRIT when we lean on our own understanding and are wise in our own eyes, wanting just what we want.

Are you walking in the Spirit?  The choice is yours.

Hugs

Sharon L Manning

Leave a comment