On down the road

Way back in my thirties, after complications from surgery, my doctor advised me to begin walking to regain my strength. From the get-go those daily walks became times of refreshing, joyful discovery of the gifts of color and design seen in the wildflowers along the side of the dusty dirt road on which I went. Seeing such beauty naturally overflowed to times of praise and song to our LORD, the great Creator. Praise in turn led to prayer concerning all kinds of things. So, my walks became prayer times for I walked and talked with GOD.

One day I received a prayer request concerning a friend of a friend just before setting off on my walk. Although I had never met this lady, over a period of time several of her prayer needs had filtered to me for prayer. Brazenly, I asked the LORD, “Hasn’t she had enough?”

The gentle words with which HE answered me (impressed upon my heart) I will never forget. “Sharon, would you steal from her?”

GOD had recently illuminated 2 Corinthians 4:15-18 to comfort me as HE walked through a deep valley of many troubles with me, therefore, I knew that the LORD meant that HE was achieving for her wonderful things through these troubles she was enduring.

2 Corinthians 4:15 For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of GOD.16 For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day. 17 For our (comparative) light affliction (troubles), which is but for a moment, is working (achieving) for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all.; 18 While we look not at the things which are seen (the problems), but at the things (eternal wonders GOD is producing in us) which are not seen: for the things which we can now see are temporary; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

As you can guess, the LORD’s words shut my mouth as I realized in shame that I had overstepped my bounds and spoken of things I did not understand.

Just yesterday I got another glimpse of what GOD was achieving for that precious lady as I listened to a message on “Getting in GOD’s way.”

The text was James 1:Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance (endurance). Let perseverance (endurance) finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything (to do what you need to do).

The urge to fix the problems of our children or others can be great, especially if you have the gift of mercy. Yet there is a subtle danger. The summary of the message was, GOD in HIS amazing foreknowledge with love and wisdom allows struggles/ troubles to buffet us to strengthen and prepare us (our children/ friends) to meet what HE knows we will face down the road, those struggles in turn will strengthen us further thus preparing us for what is to come afterwards and enable us to become and do what GOD has assigned to us (Ephesians 2:10).

That lady, I’ve heard had many more struggles of even harder nature to face down her road. GOD’s allowing the earlier physical struggles had strengthened her and taught her to depend on GOD to a degree that she was enabled to meet what GOD in HIS wisdom and purpose was to allow further down the road for her.  I can hardly wait to see what PHANTASTIC, Eternal rewards GOD has prepared for her through it all.

In the same respect, our troubles and even our children’s struggles, GOD is using to strengthen and prepare them and us for what we are to meet down the road, and those very troubles also are achieving for them and us eternal rewards that far surpass the pain of today.  GOD’s ways are not our ways (Isaiah 55:8-9) but isn’t our GOD AMAZING!

Be blessed, hugs.

Sharon

Leave a comment